Troubled Waters (Paperback)

Troubled Waters By Mary Annaïse Heglar Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In this intimate portrait of two generations, a granddaughter and a grandmother come to terms with what it means to heal when the world is on your shoulders.

The world is burning, and Corinne will do anything to put out the flames. After her brother died aboard an oil boat on the Mississippi River in 2013, Corrine awakened to the realities of climate change and its perpetrators. Now, a year later, she finds herself trapped in a lonely cycle of mourning both her brother and the very planet she stands on. She's convinced that in order to save her future, she has to make sure that her brother's life meant something. But in the act of honoring her brother's spirit, she resurrects family ghosts she knows little about--ghosts her grandmother Cora knows intimately.

Cora's ghosts have followed her from her days as a child desegregating schools in 1950s Nashville to her new life as a mother, grandmother, and teacher in Mississippi. As a child of the Civil Rights movement, she's done her best to keep those specters away from her granddaughter. She faced those demons, she reasons to herself, so that Corinne would never know they existed. Cora knows what it feels like to carry the weight of the world--and that it can crush you.

When Corrine's plan to stage a dramatic act of resistance peels back the scabs of her family wounds and puts her safety in jeopardy, both grandmother and granddaughter must bring their secrets into the light to find a path to healing and wholeness.

In heartfelt, lyrical prose based on her own family's history, Mary Anna se Heglar weaves an unforgettable story of the climate crisis, Black resistance, and the enduring power of love.

  • Perfect for fans of Jesmyn Ward, Yaa Gyasi, and Tayari Jones
  • Stand-alone novel
  • Book length: 84,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs


Product Details
ISBN: 9781400248117
ISBN-10: 1400248116
Publisher: Harper Muse
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English