Promise Boys (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Promise Boys By Nick Brooks Cover Image
$19.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


The Hate U Give meets One of Us Is Lying in Nick Brooks's Promise Boys, a trailblazing, blockbuster YA mystery about three teen boys of color who must investigate their principal’s murder to clear their own names—for fans of Jason Reynolds, Angie Thomas, and Karen McManus.

"A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery with bruised hearts at its core." —Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

"Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp. Promise Boys will stay with you long after the last page." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

The Urban Promise Prep School vows to turn boys into men. As students, J.B., Ramón, and Trey are forced to follow the prestigious "program's" strict rules. Extreme discipline, they’ve been told, is what it takes to be college bound, to avoid the fates of many men in their neighborhoods. This, the Principal Moore Method, supposedly saves lives.

But when Moore ends up murdered and the cops come sniffing around, the trio emerges as the case's prime suspects. With all three maintaining their innocence, they must band together to track down the real killer before they are arrested. But is the true culprit hiding among them?

About the Author


Nick Brooks is an author and award-winning filmmaker from Washington, DC. He is a 2020 graduate of USC's TV and Film Production program. His short film, Hoop Dreamin', earned him the George Lucas Scholar Award and was a finalist in the Forbes 30 Under 30 Film Fest. He is currently in development for his first feature film, We Were Born Kings, with Mandalay Pictures. Before becoming a filmmaker, Nick was an educator working with at-risk youth and many of his stories are colored by his experiences with the children and families of his community. He is also the author of Nothing Interesting Ever Happens to Ethan Fairmont. Follow Nick on Twitter and on Instagram.

Praise For…


"Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp. Promise Boys will stay with you long after the last page." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"The path to manhood has never felt more ominous than it does in PROMISE BOYS. I was at the edge of my seat trying to figure out if I was reading a story about boys becoming men or boys becoming killers—you will be too. A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery with bruised hearts at its core." —Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

"There's nothing like a book that manages to flawlessly thread subtle social commentary through a propulsive plot carried by complex characters. I can't wait to see this expertly crafted mystery take the world over." —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin

“Nothing short of astounding. A spellbinding, propulsive mystery while simultaneously presenting a searing critique of structural injustice. I recommend it to anyone who loves books or doesn’t.” —Jeff Zentner, award-winning author of The Serpent King and In the Wild Light

"An edge-of-your-seats, street-smart, exploding-with-talent novel.” —Francisco X. Stork, author of On the Hook

* "Breathtakingly complex and intriguing." —Kirkus, starred review

* "
Brooks excels in creating protagonists worthy of applause and truly foul villains, whose presences linger long after this atmospheric read ends." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Heartbreaking and riveting in equal measure." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250866974
ISBN-10: 1250866979
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: January 31st, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English